Listening to God’s Story

This past week I had a sermon all written out with a main theme and some some points but, after listening to the text over and over and over again on my iPhone while I commuted a couple of hours Friday and Saturday, I decided to forego my notes, forego sermon slides of my text, and forego a word for word reading (especially since it was 3 chapters) and simply share the story (of Samson) in a detailed but paraphrased form highlighting how God used the weaknesses of a very strong man to ultimately work His Will.

There are certainly times when reading, and even sitting in the text, are necessary but I think sometimes we need to hear it afresh and use our other senses and imagination when re-imagining or, on the pastor’s part, recounting it for others.

Sometime this week when you get a chance; whether listing on you iPod, iPhone, a DVD, off the Internet, or simply having someone read to you, listen to God’s Word and pray that you would hear Him speak the truth of these ancient words in a new way.

Time to tell me what you think of my blog, a certain post, your favorite superhero, whatever...